My Grand Father and World War I 

My Grand Father and World War I  – a journey back into history

Part Iimg_0008

My grandfather was the manager of the Ottoman Empire telegram office in Al-Amara Iraq when the British army marched through Iraq in 1914.
They (I am told) refused to surrender and he was captured as a prisoner of war then transferred to India for 5 years. When he was released back to Iraq, he was unwell and didn’t live for very long.

I am taking a journey back into history to learn what exactly have happened and how we as a nation started losing once we thought Nationalism  is our saviour

I couldn’t find a photo of my grandfather. I remember it was on my uncle’shouse wall and he looked very much like me. The photo, the house were all lost with everything we have in Iraq. We only have faded memories.

However, I do have a picture of my uncle and little auntie with some of their  Jewish friends. This must have been taken in the late 1920s.

img_0006.jpg

Leave a Reply

